"My Middle Name Is Archimedes" - Meet Angel Rosales

Friday Night Stand Up shows at Dallas Comedy House are a wonderful way to catch some of the funniest performers in the DFW metroplex. This week, headliner Angel Rosales does a little Q&A session and I learn my prized collection of Peanuts books may have met its match. Rosales performs September 8 at 10pm alongside Katy Evans, Shawn Mayer and Hannah Vaughan.

 Where did you grow up? What was your favorite toy or activity as a kid?

Here in DFW, Grand Prairie, to be specific. All the kids in my neighborhood used to have bikes and we’d ride them as far as Arlington. We all made up our own forts, clubhouses and motorcycle gangs and used bb guns and baskets full of acorns for drive-bys. You can only get away with that stuff when you’re little though. As we got older, the cops eventually took our guns because a neighbor thought we were riding around with rifles. Also, I got hit by a car once. Had to hang it up for good then.

What is a nickname you have had? 

My middle name is Archimedes, named after the Greek inventor. My parents and some friends I grew up with still call me that. Everyone else calls me by my first name, Angel.

Do you consider yourself a morning person or a night owl?

Both. I hated riding the bus to school as a kid so I would ride with my mom at 6am. As an adult we all typically stay up later and later, but the waking up early thing never wore off.

 What is something interesting you learned recently? 

Facebook Marketplace. I’m addicted to buying rich people’s things for pennies on the dollar.

What is a skill or subject you would like to study?

I’m trying to learn other languages. The four I really want to learn are Chinese, French, Italian and Portuguese… In no particular order.

 What do you collect?

I like to collect shot glasses when I travel to other cities, states or countries. I probably have a little over 50 but I know I broke a few when I was drunk.

What sort of process or preferences do you have for writing?

I don’t have a formal process, per se. I just jot things down on my iPhone as they happen or when I randomly make others or myself laugh.

Favorite writers or books?

Sadly, as an adult I don’t read much because I have very little time. However, as a child, I’ve probably read every book Charles M Schulz and Gary Larson ever wrote. They wrote all the Peanuts and Far Side comics.

 Favorite movies? 

Typical guy movies: Godfather, Goodfellas, Casino, Rocky, Rambo, Terminator, Forest Gump, Snatch, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, Saving Private Ryan, Tombstone, Heat, Gangs of New York, and Steel Magnolias

 Describe an event that made you feel truly inspired.

One time when we were kids, our lawnmower broke and I saw my mom cut the entire lawn with a pair of scissors. Hilarious to see, but that image is no burned in my memory forever. It helps me to not use excuses for getting anything done and it gave me the work ethic I have today.

Describe an ideal place to do something you enjoy. 

I enjoy spending time with my friends and family. I love the ocean so if it’s not on a boat or a beach, I’d rather be in an air-conditioned pub or at my house.

Do you like to cook? What would you bring to a picnic or potluck? 

I like to grill outside, but cooking inside—not so much. I usually bake cookies for potlucks.

What are some things you like about comedy? 

The best thing about comedy is getting to meet so many people that are all funny. It makes it incredibly hard to go back to hanging out with my boring non-comedy friends.

Do you have a good luck charm? 

I’m a little superstitious but no, I do not own a good luck charm like a rabbit’s foot or whatever.

Favorite animal or pet?

I love dogs. I have three; Sommer, Daisy, and Marco.

Favorite plant?

My last name is Rosales. It’s Spanish for rose bushes. Very beautiful, but watch out for those thorns.

When was an instance where you were in the right place at the right time? 

I recently moved into my dream home. Several things had to line up perfectly for it to happen and somehow, they did. I’m living my best life right now.  

Jamé McCraw is a sketch 1 student and a recent graduate of the DCH improv program. She performs with Watermelon. She spends time archiving mementos in her little old house and always finds time to hold hands with her cat, Stanley.